SHARE

Все, что вы хотели узнать об архитектурных визуализациях в реальном времени, в эсклюзивном интервью с левел-дизайнером и CG-художником Бенуа Деро

Мы, в 3D Architettura, не можем остаться в стороне от растущего интереса со стороны 3d художников к технологиям реального времени. И хотя запросы со стороны рынка на проекты, связанные с виртуальной реальностью, тоже ощутимо увеличиваются, эта сфера деятельности все еще является достаточно новой и предоставляет визуализаторам широкие возможности для экспериментов и наработки собственного ноу-хау. Какую программу предпочесть? Как быстрее работать? Сегодня мы хотим обсудить вссе эти вопросы с Бенуа Деро, создателем знаменитого Unreal Paris.

Unreal Paris by Benoît Dereau

Какое у вас образование? Почему вы решили заниматься компьютерной графикой?
Мне было лет 14, когда я впервые столкнулся с инструментами для создания 3D, созданными на базе игровых движков. Издатель VALVe сделал их доступными широкой публике, чтобы создавать дополнительный контент для своих видео-игр (Counter-Strike, Half-Life, и т.д.). С тех пор я так и не утратил к этому интерес. Я изучил самостоятельно основы левел-дизайна и создания контента для игр.

Unreal Paris by Benoît Dereau
Unreal Paris by Benoît Dereau

Выбор в пользу 3D компьютерной графики я сделал быстро. Ее изучение мне позволило быстро освоить такие программы, как Autodesk 3DS Max, Cinema 4D, Mental Ray и Vray. С течением времени я открыл для себя и другие ракурсы мира 3D (несвязанные с видео-играми): анимация и архитектурная визуализация.

Моя первая работа была в игровой индустрии, в Arkane Studios, в Лионе (Dishonored). Я работал архитектором уровней. Обязанности левел-дизайнера схожи с обязанностями левел-архитектора уровней, разве что последний фокусруется и на визуальной стороне.

Затем я покинул индустриию видео-игр и сосредоточился на работе с Vray и Corona для создания архитектурных визуализаций.

Unreal Paris by Benoît Dereau
Unreal Paris by Benoît Dereau


Почему вы выбрали именно Unreal Engine для своей работы? Каковы трудности и подводные камни для CG-художника, работающего в этой программе?

Продолжая следить за происходящим в гейм-индустрии, я не могу не отметить техническое развитие их движков. После релиза Cry Engine, созданного Crytek, все желающие получили доступ к созданию достаточно фотореалистичных рендеров. Однако именно применение PBR технологий в Unreal Engine и мой опыт работты с этим движком, мотивируют меня создавать свои архитектурные визуализации именно таким образом.

В общем, все это позволило мне объединить видео игры и архитектурную визуализацию!

Unreal Paris by Benoît Dereau
Unreal Paris by Benoît Dereau

Как вы обычно строите работу?
В статичном рендере можно проработать только те части, которые видны, но при визуализации в реальном времени необходимо показывать все, что может захотеть увидеть заказчик – но как тогда опитимизировать работу, не жертвуя качетвом?
Я делаю все модели в 3DS Max, стараюсь свести количество полигонов к минимуму. Cоздание экземпляров объектов также позволяет Unreal Engine 4 сократитьресурсы, необходимые для оперирования сценой. И наконец я слежу за эффективностью установок света и текстур.

Как только сцена перенесена в Unreal Engine 4, я использую преимущественно статичное освещение. Это позволяет мне контролировать отражения света. Я еще не до конца постиг все тайны глобального освещения в реальном времени, хотя я знаю, что Unreal Engine 4 это позволяет. В целом я предпочитаю в своих сценах естественное освещение – оно дает возможность с большей легкостью имитировать окружающую среду. Конечно, подсчет света может занимать много времени, и каждое изменение в пространстве вынуждает пересчитывать всю сцену заново. И потому интересно взглянуть на возможный результат до того, как будет подсчитан весь свет. Именно на этой фазе работты возникают трудности, ведь каждый процесс калькуляции света очень важен для всей сцены в целом и может вынудить потратить время впустую.

Lucid Arch by Benoît Dereau
Lucid Arch Dreams by Benoît Dereau

Итак, затем я создаю шейдеры со всеми слоями, что меня могут заинтересовать – normal maps, отражения и albedo (diffuse). Unreal Engine 4 не имеет комплексных все-в-одном шейдеров, в отличие от Vray и Mental Ray с простыми клеточками и цифрами для изменения. Но у вас и контроля над своими шейдерами больше. Процедурные текстуры в реально времени почти не используются потому, что это требует огромных усилий от GPU (шейдеры должны пересчитываться в кажом кадре).

Для полноты впечатления от каждой сцены требуется также саунд-дизайн. Сам я этим обычно не занимаюсь и доверяю все Maël Vignaux. Можете посмотреть его портфолио

Финальный этап – упаковка контента для нужной платформы! Он выполняется автоматически Unreal Engine 4 через основное меню.

Lucid Arch Dreams by Benoît Dereau

В каком виде вы отправляете визуализации своим заказчикам?
Есть ли риск, что файл окажется слишком тяжелым или что компьютер у клиента не достаточно мощный? Работают ли они на мобильных?

Я предоставляю заказчику исполняемый файл, который я записываю, исходя из особенностей и мощности его компьютера. На разном “железе” требуется разная оптимизаци, чтобы избежать конфликтов и проблем в том числе с разным программным обеспечением.

Постоянно приходится искать баланс между оптимизацией и производительностью во время реализации объектов, текстур, шейдеров и света. Моя цель – создать максимально интересный результат, не перегружая излишне сцену, ни с точки зрения ресурсов, ни с точки зрения времени.

Смартфоны и планшеты не поддерживают окклюзию света и отражения в реальном времени, так что я стараюсь добавить эти эффекты при калькуляции освещения в сцене.

Lucid Arch by Benoît Dereau
Lucid Arch Dreams by Benoît Dereau

С развитием технологий статические рендеры перестали быть тем “чудом”, каким их считали еще лет 10 назад. Есть ли, на ваш взгляд, инновационные возможности вернуть интерес к ним и со стороны художников, и со стороны их клиентов?
Честно говоря, я думаю, что заказчики ищут большего погружения – либо через интерактивность, либо через виртуальную реальность. Нам необходимо воплотить это и в традиционных рендерах, не повышая значительно временные затраты. Например, многим заказчикам хотелось бы менять цвета мебели нажатием кнопки. У меня пока нет готового решения для этой проблемы.

Lucid Arch by Benoît Dereau
Lucid Arch Dreams by Benoît Dereau

На ваш взгляд, технологии реального временни возьмут верх над анимацией? Ждет ли нас возвращение “машинима” так же, как произошло возвращение стереоскопических приборов?
Крайне маловероятно, что пре-рендерные технологии исчезнут. Если вам нужны рендеры в высоком качестве, то программы для статичных рендеров имеют неоспоримые преимущества. Нет никаких проблем с совместимостью с компьютером заказчика, как и нет ограничений, накладываемых реальным временем. Конечно, подход к архитектурной визуализации постоянно меняется, но статичные рендеры и анимация еще пока не могут считаться неэффективными.

Тем не менее, цены на визуализации в реальном времени всегда будут выше, поскольку здесь очевидное преимущество в интерактивности.

Lucid Arch by Benoît Dereau
Lucid Arch Dreams by Benoît Dereau

SHARE

All secrets of creating a realtime architectural walkthrough in the exclusive interview with CG generalist and level designer Benoît Dereau

We, at 3D Architettura, could not help but notice the growing attention of 3d artists to realtime technologies. Although the request of the market for virtual reality and walkthroughs is also growing, this field still remains quite new and experimental, giving artists wide opportunities for their own research and development of their own know-how. Which software to choose? What workflow is better? Today we want to discuss all these questions with Benoît Dereau, the author of the famous Unreal Paris.

Unreal Paris by Benoît Dereau

What is your background and education? Why did you decide to work in CG?

I was about 14 when I had my first contact with 3D development tools based on video games engines. The publisher VALVe had made them available to the world in order to create additional content for their video games. (Counter-Strike, Half-Life, etc.). Since then, I have never stopped using these tools. I learned by myself the basics of level-design and content creation for video games.

Unreal Paris by Benoît Dereau
Unreal Paris by Benoît Dereau

I quickly made the choice to study 3D computer graphics. These studies allowed me to familiarize myself with softwares like Autodesk 3DS Max, Cinema 4D, Mental Ray and Vray. Throughout the years, I discovered other areas of the 3D world (which are not related to video games): animation, architectural visualization and packshots.

My first job was in the field of the video game industry, at Arkane Studios, in Lyon (Dishonored). I worked as a level architect. The missions of a level designer approaches those of a level architect, except that the latter focuses on the visual side.

Later, I left the video game industry to work mainly on Vray and Corona in the architectural visualization industry.

Unreal Paris by Benoît Dereau
Unreal Paris by Benoît Dereau

Why did you choose Unreal Engine for making your realtime walk-through?
What are the difficulties and “underwater stones” for a CG-artist when working with this software?

Keeping a close eye on the video game industry, I saw the technical development of their engines. When it finally released, the Cry Engine developed by Crytek allowed the public to get a relatively photorealistic rendering. However, it is the implementation of the PBR technology in Unreal Engine and my experience gained on this engine that motivated me to build scenes of architectural visualization on it.

This allowed me to combine video games and architectural visualization!

Unreal Paris by Benoît Dereau
Unreal Paris by Benoît Dereau

What is your usual workflow for the real-time walk-throughs?
In the static render you can work only on what you want to show, but with realtime you need to be ready to show whatever the client decides to see, – so how can one optimize the work and get the best result?

I do all the modeling on 3DS Max. My assets use the least possible amount of polygons. The instantiation of some objects is made directly into Unreal Engine 4 to reduce the resources needed to operate the scene. Then I do all the unfolding to make sure that my textures and lights are applied as efficiently as possible.

Once the scene implemented in Unreal Engine 4, I mainly use static lighting. This allows me to have a high accuracy on the light bounces. I have not yet apprehended real time global illumination, though I know Unreal Engine 4 is capable of it. I have a strong preference for natural lighting in my scenes. It allows me to sublimate the environment more easily. The calculation of light can be time consuming. Indeed, each change to the environment requires you to recalculate the entire scene. That’s why It becomes interesting to get an idea of the result that your light could give before starting a calculation. This phase is always a big dilemma because each light calculation process can represent a substantial loss of time.

Lucid Arch by Benoît Dereau
Lucid Arch Dreams by Benoît Dereau

Then, I create a shader including all variables that might interest me like normal maps, or reflections and albedo (diffuse). The Unreal Engine 4 does not offer all-in-one shaders like Vray or Mental Ray with simple slots to fill and numbers to change. You have more control over your shaders. Procedural textures are barely used in real-time because it is very resource-intensive for the GPU (shaders must be recalculated for all frames).

There is also a real work on sound design for most scenes to make them more consistent. I do not do it on most of my projects. This is achieved by Maël Vignaux. I advise you to consult his portfolio

The last step is a simple packaging of the content for the required platform ! This is done automatically by the Unreal Engine 4 via the main menu.

Lucid Arch Dreams by Benoît Dereau

How do you deliver your walkthroughs to the client?
Is there a risk that the file is too huge or the clients computer is not strong enough to execute it?
And what about mobile devices?

I provide my client with an executable file that I previously compiled in order to function properly with its hardware. On each hardware platform, further optimization is required to overcome the different hardware and software restrictions.

We must constantly juggle between optimization and performance during the implementation of objects, textures, shaders and light. The goal is to get the most interesting result possible without the scene being too much demanding in resources and time.

Smartphones and tablets do not support ambient occlusion and real-time reflections. So I try to add the ambient occlusion effect during the calculation of the lighting in the scene.

Lucid Arch by Benoît Dereau
Lucid Arch Dreams by Benoît Dereau

With new technologies static renders not being anymore such a “wow”, as they were even 10 years ago, do you see any innovative approaches to make these static renders more appealing both to the artists and their customers?

I really think that customers are looking for more immersion, either through interaction or virtual reality helmets. We must find a way to be able to implement it in traditional rendering projects without drastically increasing the working time. Customizing the colors of the furniture with a button is an example of something that customers really like to have. I do not take too much risk with this answer because I really have no convincing solution to this issue.

Lucid Arch by Benoît Dereau
Lucid Arch Dreams by Benoît Dereau

Do you think that realtime technology will win over pre-rendered animation?
Are we facing the come-back of machinima as we recently experienced the come-back of stereoscopic devices?

It is clearly unlikely that the pre-rendering technologies will disappear soon. If you are seeking high-quality renders, pre-rendering engines have so far a clear advantage. There is no hardware problem with the customer, and you don’t have the currently existing real-time restrictions. Clearly the architectural visualization workflow is constantly evolving but the pre-rendering process has not proved inefficient yet.

However, the price will always be higher for real-time quality content. This is mainly on interactivity that real-time will have an advantage.

Lucid Arch by Benoît Dereau
Lucid Arch Dreams by Benoît Dereau